Home News World Cup Who Won FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022? Final Results and Winner

Who Won FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022? Final Results and Winner

Know more about this great football event - the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

Published on 19 Dec 2022

The 2022 FIFA World Cup, held in Qatar, was a historic event as it marked the first time the tournament was held in the winter. The final match pitted Argentina against France, with Argentina ultimately coming out on top after a thrilling match that ended in a 3-3 draw after extra time, followed by a 4-2 victory for Argentina in a penalty shootout. After witnessing a historic moment, you can check some of the best bookmakers here.

Final Match

The match was held at the Lusail Iconic Stadium, and from the outset, it was clear that it would be an exciting and closely contested encounter. During the 23rd minute, Lionel Messi, the captain of the Argentina national team, scored the first goal by converting a 11-meter free kick. Angel Di Maria then doubled the lead for Argentina in the 36th minute.

France fought back and in the 80th minute, Kylian Mbappe scored a penalty to bring the score to 2-1. A minute later, Mbappe equalized the score at 2-2. The main time of the match ended with the score at 2-2 and the match went into extra time. In the second extra time, both teams scored a goal – Messi for Argentina and Mbappe for France, who completed his hat-trick. In the end, Argentina won 4-2 on penalties.

Messi, who is widely considered one of the greatest soccer players of all time, scored twice in the final and became the first player to score in every round of a single tournament in the modern World Cup format. At 35 years old, Messi seemed to save some of the best performances of his career for this World Cup, which he had previously hinted could be his final international tournament.

The match ended in a 3-3 draw after 90 minutes, sending it into extra time. Despite both teams pushing for a winner, the match remained tied and ultimately went to a penalty shootout. Argentina managed to hold their nerve and convert all four of their penalties, while France missed two, giving Argentina a 4-2 victory.

Historic Moment For Argentina

The win marked Argentina’s first World Cup triumph since 1986–first in 36 years– and it was a fitting end to an exciting and unpredictable tournament. Argentina showed determination and resilience in the face of a strong French team, and Messi’s performances throughout the tournament were nothing short of spectacular. He led his team to victory, scoring a total of six goals in the tournament and earning the Golden Boot award for the tournament’s top scorer.

The final was a thrilling encounter, with both teams giving it their all in an effort to come out on top. France had looked imperious at times on their way to the final, but they were well off their best for much of normal time. It is possible that this was due to a flu outbreak that had affected several players, including Mbappé. Despite this, they fought back bravely and managed to level the score twice, but in the end, it was not enough to overcome a strong Argentine side led by Messi.

Messi Cemented His Status 

The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) has awarded the Argentina national team a $10 million certificate for their recent victory in the World Cup held in Qatar. This marks the third time that Argentina has won the World Cup, with previous victories in 1978 and 1986. The team has also reached the final in 1930, 1990, and 2014, showcasing their strong presence in the world of international football.

The team’s success can be attributed in large part to the talent and leadership of captain Lionel Messi. Since joining the national team in 2005, Messi has scored an impressive 98 goals in 172 matches, and has also won numerous accolades with the team, including an Olympic gold medal in 2008 and a silver medal in the 2014 World Cup.

In addition to his success with Argentina, Messi has also won numerous titles in the Copa América, including a gold, three silvers, and a bronze. Messi’s talent and leadership on the field has not gone unnoticed, with football legend Ronaldo expressing his admiration for the Argentine forward on Twitter.

Overall, the Argentina national team’s victory in the World Cup is a testament to their skill and determination, and their $10 million award from CONMEBOL is a well-deserved recognition of their achievements.

In the end, Argentina and Messi were deserved winners, and the final was a fitting end to an exciting and memorable World Cup. The tournament as a whole was full of surprises and upsets, with many of the traditional powerhouses failing to make it out of the group stage. It was a World Cup that will be remembered for years to come, and one that has cemented Argentina and Messi’s place in the pantheon of soccer greats.

Latest news