Home News World Cup Preview of 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup: Group stage
2023 FIFA Womens World Cup

Preview of 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup: Group stage

Fireworks on the field: a preview of the high-stakes group stage in the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup.

Published on 18 Jul 2023

Table of Contents:

Welcome to our special preview of the eagerly awaited FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2023! Football fans worldwide are giddy with anticipation as the international stage gets ready to host this famous tournament, anxious to see the skill, zeal, and brilliance of the women’s footballing world. It’s time to explore the teams, matchups, and narratives that will shape the early phases of this historic event, with the group stage serving as the prelude to the exhilarating ride ahead. Each group, from established leaders to up-and-coming competitors, is bursting with talent, making every game an enthralling spectacle for spectators worldwide. As the voyage progresses, we will see dramatic confrontations, inspirational tales of the underdog, and the unwavering resolve of athletes competing for success on the biggest stage of them all.

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup details

Host Countries

This year’s edition of the FIFA Women’s Soccer World Cup will be hosted jointly by Australia and New Zealand. This is the first FIFA Women’s World Cup that multiple countries will host. Being the host countries, they have automatic qualification into the tournament.

Location and date

The tournament will kick off on Thursday, 20 July 2023, and the finals will be played on Sunday, 20 August 2023. It will be played in ten stadiums across nine cities in Australia and New Zealand. Here are the stadiums;

Venues in Australia

  • Sydney: Stadium Australia, Sydney Football Stadium
  • Brisbane: Lang Park
  • Melbourne: Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth: Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Adelaide: Hindmarsh Stadium

Venues in New Zealand

  • Auckland: Eden Park
  • Wellington: Wellington Regional Stadium
  • Dunedin: Forsyth Barr Stadium
  • Hamilton: Waikato Stadium

Watch Live

The following channels will cover the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2023.

  • United Kingdom: BBC, ITV
  • USA: Fox Sports
  • Australia: Optus Sport and Seven Network.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 groups

The tournament will feature 32 teams for the first time in the competition’s history; previously, it featured only 24 countries. The 32 countries are divided into eight groups, with four countries in each. Here are the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup standings

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia, Ireland, Canada, Nigeria

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China

Group E: USA, Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, Korea Republic

Ready to turn your bets into incredible winnings? OLE777 offers you the opportunity to do just that with an amazing offer: a 100% first deposit bonus, especially for betting on the exciting matches of the Women’s Football World Cup 2023! Be a part of this football celebration and double your chances of winning with the OLE777 x FBR!

Promo Image FBRxOle777 EN

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 schedule

Group stage

The group stage will occur in 2023 from July 20 through August 3. Each team in a group will play the three other group members once, and the two teams with the most points after the third game will advance to the knockout stage. The group stage fixture is below.

  • July 20

Group A: New Zealand vs Norway

Group B: Australia vs Republic of Ireland

Nigeria vs Canada

  • July 21

Group A: Philippines vs Switzerland

Group C: Spain vs Costa Rica

  • July 22

Group E: United States vs Vietnam

Group C: Zambia vs Japan

Group D: England vs Haiti

Denmark vs China

  • July 23

Group G: Sweden vs South Africa

Italy vs Argentina

Group E: Netherlands vs Portugal

Group F: France vs Jamaica

  • July 24

Group H: Germany vs Morocco

Group F: Brazil vs Panama

  • July 25

Group H: Colombia vs South Korea

Group A: New Zealand vs Philippines

Switzerland vs Norway

  • 26 July

Group C: Spain vs Zambia

Japan vs Costa Rica

Group B: Canada vs Republic of Ireland

Group E: USA vs Netherlands

  • 27 July

Group E: Portugal vs Vietnam

Group B: Australia vs Nigeria

  • 28 July

Group D: England vs Denmark

China vs Haiti

Group G: Argentina vs South Africa

  • 29 July

Group G: Sweden vs Italy

Group F: France vs Brazil

Panama vs Jamaica

  • 30 July

Group H: Germany vs Colombia

South Korea vs Morocco

Group A: Norway vs Philippines

Switzerland vs New Zealand

  • 31 July

Group B: Canada vs Australia

Republic of Ireland vs Nigeria

Group C: Japan vs Spain

Costa Rica vs Zambia

  • 1 August

Group E: Portugal vs USA

Vietnam vs Netherlands

Group D: Haiti vs Denmark

China vs England

  • 2 August

Group F: Panama vs France

Jamaica vs Brazil

Group G: South Africa vs Italy

Argentina vs Sweden

  • 3 August

Group H: South Korea vs Germany

Morocco v Colombia

Predictions for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Group Stage

Here are the countries backed to stand out in the group stage of this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup edition.


Besides the fact that they are one-half of the host country, Australia does have a legit chance in this tournament. The Australian team impressed in the Euros, led by the prolific striker Sam Kerr, and we predict they will build on this success in the world cup. They will undoubtedly advance to the knockout stage despite being in the same group as the Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, and Canada.


The South American team is balanced and looks like the most complete team in this tournament behind England. Brazil might finally realize its potential and reach the promised land under the leadership of Swede Pia Sundhage. They are tipped to win their group.


England won the just concluded European championship, and they will be hoping to dominate this group. They are confident heading into this competition after their recent Euros triumph. England is in Group D with Haiti, Denmark, and China. They are the favorite to win the group.

Get ready to witness the passion, skill, and drama that only the FIFA Women’s World Cup can deliver. The journey begins with the group stage, and the stage is set for a remarkable tournament that will captivate the world. Follow FBR for more football tournament previews.

Latest news